Each year, the Golden Ear Awards recognize and celebrate the outstanding acheivements of the previous year in Seattle jazz. In the process, Seattle jazz fans and performers can take stock of and show gratitude for the region’s vibrant jazz ecology. The awards are determined by a combination of nominations and popular vote. Nominees this year were selected by a poll of Earshot Jazz readers, jazz performers, audience members, journalists and industry professionals. There are eight Golden Ear Award categories, including induction into the Seattle Jazz Hall of Fame.


2214 Second Avenue
Community Forum: 5pm; Music starts at 7pm

For Reservations call 206-443-4221

2011 NW Recording of the Year:
Bill Anschell, Figments
Jovino Santos Neto, Current
Thomas Marriott, Human Spirit
Chuck Deardorf, Transparence

2011 NW Acoustic Jazz Ensemble:
McTuff Trio
Susan Pascal Quartet
Human Spirit
Jovino Santos Neto Quinteto

2011 NW Alternative Jazz Group:
Bad Luck
Neil Welch’s Sleeper Ensemble
Burn List
Andy Clausen’s Wishbone Ensemble

2011 NW Jazz Instrumentalist:
Bill Anschell
Jeff Busch
Joe Doria
Chuck Deardorf

Emerging Artist or Group of 2011:
Chris Icasiano
Sam Boshnack
Kate Olson
Beth Fleenor

2011 NW Vocalist of the Year:
Jacqueline Tabor
Johnaye Kendrick
Danny Quintero
Elspeth Savani

Seattle Jazz Hall of Fame Nominees
Jeff Johnson
Jovino Santos Neto
Greg Williamson
Dave Peck
Overton Berry
Milt Kleeb

2011 NW Concert of the Year:
McCoy Tyner Quintet, Jazz Alley, March 3-7
Human Spirit, Tula’s, October 14 & 15
Triptet / Nels Cline Singers, Is That Jazz? Festival, Chapel Performance Space, January 29
Royal Room opening, Sunday, December 18

Seattle Jazz