The nominations for the 2010 Earshot Golden Ear Awards have been released in the February issue of Earshot Magazine.

Pick up a copy at your local record store or jazz club, or download a PDF version from Earshot’s website.

The awards will take place, Sunday, March 20 at 7pm at Tula’s Jazz Club.

NW Recording of the Year:
Ziggurat Quartet, Calculated Gestures
Seattle Repertory Jazz Orchestra w/Jimmy Heath, The Endless Search
Speak, Speak
The Kora Band, Cascades

NW Acoustic Jazz Group:
Thomas Marriott’s Flexicon
Ziggurat Quartet
Susan Pascal Quartet

NW Alternative Jazz Group:
Ask the Ages
Empty Cage

NW Instrumentalist of the Year:
Bill Anschell
Travis Ranney
Stuart Dempster
Thomas Marriott

NW Vocalist of the Year:

Gail Pettis
Greta Mattassa
Valerie Joyce
Kelley Johnson

NW Emerging Artist or Group:
Evan Woodle
Luke Bergman
Operation ID
Paul Kikuchi

NW Jazz Concert of the Year:
Matt Jorgensen “Tattooed by Passion” at the Earshot Jazz Festival
Celebrating Hadley Caliman at Jazz Alley
Seattle Repertory Jazz Orchestra w/ Gail Pettis: Big Band Monk and Mingus
Speak CD release at Chapel Performance Space

Jazz Hall of Fame:

Chuck Deardorf
Jeff Johnson
Cuong Vu
Wayne Horvitz

Seattle Jazz